CRICKET- Captain Holder, Dottin claim top honours


The 27-year-old Holder walked away with the Test Player-of-the-Year award along with the Player-of-the-Year, as reward for his recent exploits with bat and ball.

An attractive lower order batsman, Holder gathered 565 runs in eight Tests during the period under consideration – April, 2018 to March, 2019 – including a monumental maiden Test double hundred against England in the first Test at Bridgetown last January.

That innings – an unbeaten 202 – propelled West Indies to a 381-run victory, laying the foundation for a 2-1 series win and the recapture of the Wisden Trophy for the first time in a decade.

During the same period, Holder captured 40 wickets with his steady medium pace, and last February was installed as the number one Test all-rounder in the ICC player rankings.

Dottin, meanwhile, took home the T20 International Player-of-the-Year, ODI Player-of-the-Year and Player-of-the-Year awards in a clean sweep of the women’s category.

The right-hander averaged 41 with the bat in six One-Day Internationals and also picked up 15 wickets at 13 runs apiece with her sharp medium pace. In T20 Internationals, the 28-year-old averaged nearly 33 and snared 14 wickets.

Not surprisingly, elegant right-hander Shai Hope picked up the ODI Player-of-the-Year for a second successive season. The 25-year-old averaged 63 from 16 matches and lashed three hundreds – all coming in the space of seven innings last year on the tour of the Asian subcontinent.

Meanwhile, all-rounder Keemo Paul was named T20 International Player-of-the-Year while rookie fast bowler Oshane Thomas was named Emerging Player-of-the-Year.

Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Antigua!
We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages.
Contact us at [email protected]


  1. Throw out the 200 in a single inning and holder’s average for 15 innings is 24.

    Celebrating failure will achieve more failure.

    There should be standards for every award if no player attains the standard then no award is given.

    For example a minimum average of 50 for batting average.

    A minimum of 3 wickets per inning for bowling.

    Every player has to bat but all players do not get a chance to bowl. So a more comprehensive equation is needed to measure the player of the year.

    By the way most of the other players do not have a consistent place in the side either. Holder might be the only one. So he would be at a significant advantage.

  2. Jofra Archer should be West Indies cricketer of the year altho he reps England he’s Windian born and a world class superstar. No current West Indies player is in his league.

Comments are closed.