Shamara Jada Yearwood is 2018 Island Scholar


The Ministry of Education, Science and Technology has announced Shamara Jada Yearwood as the 2018 Island Scholar.

In a statement, the Ministry outlined that Yearwood, a former student of Antigua State College, now enrolled at Columbia University in the United States was named, “following a careful review of the 2018 CAPE/ Edexcel/Cambridge results and rigorously applying the relevant criteria for determination.”

As Island Scholar, Shamara Yearwood will be awarded a US $ 20,000 scholarship annually from the Board of Education for undergraduate studies.

Additionally, four Antiguans and Barbudans have been named as Proxim Scholarship recipients.

Jerry Aska (St. Anthony’s Secondary School), Sonique Phillip (Antigua State College), Lucia Elizabeth Murray (St. Anthony’s Secondary School), and Yvana Ephraim (Antigua State College) will each receive US $ 10,000 annually towards their higher education studies.

Director of Education, Clare Browne, has offered congratulations to the 2018 Island Scholar and to the four Proxim Scholarship recipients.

Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Antigua!
We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages.
Contact us at [email protected]


Comments are closed.