Historic number of women appointed to Senate

Senator Gail Christian

For the first time in Antigua and Barbuda’s history, nine of the seventeen senators in the Upper House are women.

President of the Senate, Alincia Williams-Grant; Leader of Government’s Business in the Senate Mary Claire Hurst, Maureen Payne-Hyman, Aziza Lake, Gail Christian, Shanella Govia, opposition senator Shawn Nicholas, independent senator Bakesha Francis-James and Barbuda senator Knacyntar Nedd are the nine women senators, after receiving their instruments of appointment earlier today at the Government House.

Alincia Williams Grant, Senate President

The Senate President began by commending the newly-appointed leader of Government’s business Mary Claire Hurst.

“Special compliments to you on a well-deserved appointment. It is good to see a strong woman who is unrelenting in passion and your commitment to serve this country to rise to the office that you now hold.”

“Many here in this Honourable House will be looking to you for guidance,” Grant said.

“I am particularly delighted to see the majority of the Upper House now being comprised of nine women. This will translate to a more articulate and policy-driven, issue-focused debate in this House, not just the rhetoric,” Grant noted.

The Senate leader went on to note that, “this is indeed a fair representation of the majority of our society and is a testament the commitment to each party, particularity to the ABLP, to the engage women and to empower them at the highest level of decision-making in this country.”

“We are prayerful that this will translate into a stronger representation of women in the Lower House the next time around.”

Leader of government business, Mary Claire Hurst

William-Grant also sought to congratulate Lower House members Samantha Marshall and Maria Browne and offered that, “we expect your voices to be the loudest in the lower chamber and expect to see policies that will support and empower women.”

“I wish to encourage all the women parliamentarians to work together with the agenda we here in Parliament set in the last term to see how best we can parity a reality in the Lower House by 2030.”

The male senator counterparts include Vice President of the Senate Osbert Frederick, Eustace Lake, Phillip Shoul, Colin O’Neil Browne, Johnathan Joseph, Richard Lewis and Damani Tabor.

Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Antigua!
We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages.
Contact us at [email protected]


  1. Congrats to all the senators especially the 9 females. I am so proud of the way the country is progressing with regards to gender parity in the decision-making process. Time to get more females elected to the Lower House too.

  2. I cannot believe that the people of Antigua and Barbuda have once again voted for this corrupt government. What has happened to the value and integrity of the people in our country? Have we sold our souls for such little value as a couple of dollars in our pockets, cell phones and tablets? What have we become? This government does not care for the people and is instead only interested in the money that comes with power.

    • Smh what sore losers you UPP supporters are. That is what you guys resort to saying that the ABLP bought out the elections. What a bunch of jokers. It is quiet clear that Antiguans have no use for the UPP so stop y’all bellyaching.

Comments are closed.