Greene re-elected as president with Cochrane as NOC VP


Chet Greene has been returned as the president of the Antigua and Barbuda National Olympic committee (ABNOC). In a surprising twist, the 18-member body chose to elect Greene’s challenger Neil Cochrane as the NOC’s first vice president.

Greene was elected 22 votes topping presidential challenger Dr. Philmore Benjamin who got 14 votes.

Cochrane, meanwhile garnered 21 member votes to Cordell Williams Sr’s 14 votes in the vice presidential contest and is the lone member of Benjamin’s slate to be elected by the body.

“I did expect for [Cochrane] to withdraw,” Greene said of his expectations after he defeated Benjamin on the presidential ballot.

“We can now get back to the principle objective of the organization, that is the development of sports and our athletes here in Antigua and Barbuda.”

Elected members (from left to right): Jo-Ann Small, Fitzroy Quinland, Charles Bellot, Len Mussington, Yolanda Samuel (treasurer), Thomas Greenaway (3rd VP), Chet Greene (president), Neil Cochrane (1st VP), Phillip Isaacs Sr. (2nd VP), Daryll Matthew

The meeting had been previously suspended back in December of 2017 due to the question of voting rights of members representing the Fencing Association. After much back and forth between the association and president Greene, the matter was finally put a vote and Fencing was allowed to participate after a vote of 13-7.

Due to the previous impasse, International Olympic Committee (IOC) representatives were invited to sit in on the evening’s proceedings.

IOC executive board member Nicole Hoevertsz commented that, “I hope that tonight will be the end of a real difficult process within the NOC.”

The IOC representative outlined a number of items to adopted by the incoming board to include regular board meetings, annual general meetings and she also mandated that the new board has, “Within 6 months from today to change the constitution in accordance with the road map set out by PASO.”

Final Results:
Chet Greene 22
Benjamin 14
Spoiled Ballot(s) 0

First Vice President:
Neil Cochrane  21
Cordell Williams 14
Spoiled Ballot(s) 1

2nd Vice President:
Phillip Isaac 20
Everton Manu 12
Kelesha Antoine 4
Spoiled Ballot(s) 0

3rd Vice President:
Thomas Greenawsy 20
Kelesha Antoine 16
Spoiled Ballot 0 

Yolanda Samuel 23
Spoiled Ballot(s) 13
(Raymond Dojon withdrew)

Ordinary Members:
Franklyn Braithwaite 29
Karen Joseph
Leonard Mussington 19
Charles Bellot 25
Jo-Ann Small 23
Daryll Matthew 22
Fitzroy Quinland 18 beat Everton Cornelius 13 in run off vote.
Spoiled Ballot(s) 5

Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Antigua!
We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages.
Contact us at [email protected]


  1. It appears jus likka politics summe very, very swete inna bein inna de inna cirkle in sports!!! Eben dem pepple you tink sholdn’ta hab any time fu dat carse dem hab too much on dem plate nar leg go!!
    Well, well!!

  2. Are these 2 on speaking terms? The media accounts paint a different picture, but then again such is the nature of politics. Grab, grab, grab. Sounds like a popularity contest.

Comments are closed.