Bodybuilding’s Ephraim hopeful of repeat at National Sports Awards


One year removed from dominating her class on the national scene, the national bikini fitness athlete of the year and national sportswoman of the year Kimberly Ephraim is set to repeat as this year’s champion.

The Antigua and Barbuda Vitamalt National Sports Awards are being held this evening and Ephraim is one of six females nominated for Senior Sportswoman of the Year. The others are: Jess St. John (Athletics), Shawnisha Hector (Cricket), Amy Lake (Drag Racing), D’Jeri J.M. Raymond (Tennis) and Kanika Buckley (Football).

When asked of the possibility of repeating Ephraim said: “Honestly, I am happy just to be nominated. If I win the award, I will be happy and if I don’t, I am happy with the year I’ve served to this point.”

“I had the opportunity to speak at the launch of the Women’s T20 2018 cricket campaign and meeting and interacting with all the women was a great honor for me.”

There has been much debate in public forums as to whether or not bodybuilding should be considered a sport.

“I can’t fault the regular man for coming to the conclusion that bodybuilding is not a sport,” replied Ephraim.

“Bodybuilding is becoming more popular locally, however, and people are becoming more aware of what it takes to be successful at the sport similar to what it takes to make a great football or basketball athlete.”

Ephraim said that her winning last’s years award, “Perked everybody’s ear.”

“Travelling to other countries, you realize that Antigua’s profile has risen and we are on the radar in the region and growing Caribbean.”

Last year’s senior sportsman of the year Alzarri Joseph was not nominated by the Cricket Association this year. Instead, the Association nominated Rahkeem “Jimbo” Cornwall for the prestigious award.

The other seven male nominees are: Cejhae Greene (Athletics), Xavier Meade (Basketball), Ollyn Martin (Bodybuilding), Stephan Smith (Football), Omorry James (Golf), Noah Mascoll-Gomes (Swimming) and Hubert Jody Maginley (Tennis).

The junior female nominees are:

  1. Joella Lloyd (Athletics),
  2. Janequa Lewis (Football),
  3. Tamesha Thomas (Fencing),
  4. Olivia Fuller (Swimming),
  5. Sibley Charles (Tennis)

The junior male nominees are:

  1. Sheldon Noble (Athletics)
  2. Garyal Emmanuel (Cycling)
  3. Ronaldo Flowers (Football)
  4. Tiger Tyson (Kite Boarding)
  5. Lleyton Martin (Swimming)
  6. Cordell Williams Jr. (Tennis)
  7. Yahnik Martin (Triathlon)
  8. Demar James (Golf)
  9. Javier Spencer (Cricket)

Coach of the Year nominees are:

  1. Marlon Mack (Athletics),
  2. Rolston “Debu” Williams (Football),
  3. Ian Tittle (Cricket),
  4. Ian Cardova Simon (Triathlon),
  5. Nelson Molina Fojo (Swimming)

Administrator of the year nominees are:

  1. Carlton Broodie (Basketball)
  2. Benadette Mitchell (Cricket)
  3. Trevor Cranstan (Draughts)
  4. Iroots Appleton (Football)
  5. Emma Guevara Martin (Swimming)
(from left to right) Chairwoman Agatha Dublin, Paula C.M. Lee, Teddy Daley, Director of Sports Heather Daley, Sam Roberts, Carl Joseph, Sybil Walling

The judging panel this year comprises of Agatha Dublin (chairperson), Sybil Walling, Paula C.M. Lee, Sam Roberts, Teddy Daley and Carl Joseph.

This evening’s event will be held at the La Casa Palmidita in Fitches Creek starting at 7 pm.

Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Antigua!
We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages.
Contact us at [email protected]


  1. Has Rosian Warrington ever won this award? Rooting for Rakeem Cornwall all the way Liberta posse

Comments are closed.